kalloway: multicolored christmas lights (Xmas Lights 26 Unspun)
[personal profile] kalloway posting in [community profile] inspiredby
Though I'm not sure whose headlines. These cardboard words arrived in a ziploc bag and I've not quite figured out what game they belong to.

(mix and match?)

Thirty Headline Words )

Millennial Midlife

Mar. 28th, 2026 07:15 am
skimmed_miilk: (Default)
[personal profile] skimmed_miilk posting in [community profile] findingfriends
 Is there an interesting story behind your username? Not really, it's just a play on the phrase "no point crying over spilled milk" but skimmed as I was on a weight loss attempt at the time. I actually kind of hate it now, and I'm considering buying a rename token. My current name was also a rename from the original YoungAcidia that I wrote under when I started this journal way back in 2002.

Location and language(s): West of Scotland, near Loch Lomond. I only speak English, despite a short-lived attempt to learn Spanish.

Age range: Early 40's

Hot button/deal breaker issues that will likely lead to unfriending: My journal is my space to be me, and so I have no interest in sharing it with those who don't support reproductive rights, feminism, freedom of gender or sexual identity, anti-fascism, anti-colonialism, a free Palestine and Ukraine, green policies, a universal basic income, socialism...you get the jist. 

Do you have an "About Me" post new friends can read to get a sense of who you are, the people you talk about regularly, etc.? Not currently, but I'll perhaps write one if I find new friends.

Is your profile up-to-date or at all useful? I did tweak it a little recently, I'm not sure how useful it is. I suppose it gives a little flavour?

List a few things you think it's important new friends know about you right away: I'm a mum of three, nonna of (soon-to-be) two, dog mum. I work for a humanitarian charity, in retail. I live with depression and low self-esteem, and have done my whole life. I experienced a messy divorce with infidelity and financial abuse - it's in the past but these things shape a person. I have an incredible circle of family and friends. I don't always like to act my age. I share my home with a ridiculous amount of books.

You mostly write about: Daily life; my everlasting struggle against my natural inclination towards hibernating on my sofa; books and films I've consumed; weight training and weight loss; finding myself in midlife.

You never or very rarely write about: I'm not a fandom-er. I have dabbled in writing fiction, but it's not based on any existing IPs. I would like to get back into it, and if I do I'll share it but that hasn't happened yet.

Is your journal mostly public, locked, or a mix of public and locked? It's access-only.  It's just so I at least get introduced to whoever is reading, but I'm not necessarily private. I doubt anyone I know in real life would be interested or even know Dreamwidth exists, so I feel pretty free to say what I want. I just prefer the idea that I'm having a conversation rather than being overheard...if that makes sense. I've maybe made my oldest entries fully locked, just from a cringe point of view as I was just a dumb kid when I started this journal, but I can't remember and don't really care.

Do you use filters for certain types of posts (e.g. fandom-related posts, or posts about sex, or mental health issues, etc.)? Not filters, but I will use a cut if I'm going into detail about something that I think might be triggering for some. For me, that's mainly when I talk about weight loss, which I don't do very often anyway.

Your posting frequency (e.g. daily, every few days, weekly, etc.): Since coming back to this journal this year, it's been at least weekly. I'm hoping to be more frequent, but finding time isn't always easy.

Does your journal frequently include any of the following: memes, linkspams, gifs, photos, videos, etc? Not often, I can't be arsed with the faff of uploading, linking, etc. But if I do include things like that, they go under a cut.

What do you enjoy most about journaling? Chronicling life, and just getting the chance to be with my thoughts and get them out. I'm quite a solitary person a lot of the time, but even then we all need a way to talk about things. My journal is often the place for that.

How often do you read your friends list (e.g. daily, every other day, once a week, etc.)? Probably weekly, after I've written a post. I'm not as good at commenting as I used to be, but I'm working on it as I want to get back to how this journal used to be, with dialogue and community. Harder these days since the death of LJ and journaling in general, especially with people my own age.

You really enjoy reading about: Those also figuring out this stage of life, those who get personal about the things they're living through, reviews of books, rants, takes on the culture, women's issues.

You have very little interest in reading about: Fandoms...sorry!

Your thoughts on journals that regularly include any of the following: memes, linkspams, gifs, photos, videos, etc? Your journal is your space, so crack on. But they have to be a backdrop to your thoughts to get me interested, rather than the only things you post.

When it comes to comments on your posts, what matters more -- quality or quantity? I'd like to know at least someone is reading, but I'd rather someone commented because they have something to say rather than just the Dreamwidth equivalent of a like.

Do you unfriend people who don't comment much, even if you know they are reading you regularly? No. Although how would I know they're reading...? I generally only unfriend people if I really don't gel with their journal and feel we have absolutely no common ground.

What is your approach when it comes to commenting on other journals? As I said, I'm not as good at it as I want to be. Some of that is because, since moving from LJ, I don't feel I've built up a rapport with folks. And that's on me, as I'm a a bit shy, awkward and avoidant. But I'm working on it...I perhaps need coaxed out of my shell.

When you friend someone, but things don't really click, do you unfriend them without warning, or do you send them a note first? How do you prefer to be unfriended in similar circumstances? I wouldn't announce it. I think if you aren't clicking, then it's obvious as there is just no interaction at all, so I doubt if either of us would even notice. I have unfriended people in the past who then still wanted to read my posts, and I'm cool with adding them back if that's the case. But it's a case of no hard feelings - if someone doesn't want me reading them, then that's their prerogative - journals should be safe, comfortable spaces.

AND LASTLY

Friending memes often ask people to list their favourite TV shows, movies, books, etc., but more often than not, those aren't things people actually write about in their journal. Do you have any favourite TV shows, movies, books, etc., that you DO often write about -- not necessarily in a fandom sort of way, just in general? Not really. I just like writing about what I've read or watched as and when it comes up. A flavour of what that could be is that I'm more drawn to human experiences like motherhood, marriage breakdown, female friendship, migration, mental health. Maybe with a little sprinkling of magical realism or dystopia too. I'm an indie kid at heart, and that's probably reflected in my listening, reading and watching tastes. My interests in my profile include some favourites of all these things.

Any final thoughts you'd like to share with potential new friends? I feel journaling online is a dying art, so those of us still here need to find each other. If I've sparked your interest, give me an add and I'll follow you back. We can try each other out, see if we fit.

Japanese Maple?

Mar. 28th, 2026 12:20 am
days_unfolding: (Default)
[personal profile] days_unfolding
Overslept until 8:15 AM. I’m feeling groggy. I forgot to scan my music for my lesson, so I’ll need to sneak it in (done). I really need to nap at lunchtime, so I’ll need to jump into the shower right after work.

And now it’s back to cold (34F/1C). Mother Nature is having whiplash.

I think that I want to get a Japanese Maple for the front yard. I found one that I like. And planting trees is a Good Thing. Oh, I forgot to mention that I got two ferns for the side yard. It will be tricky to figure out the right spot without the other ferns though. I’ll work it out. I need to check on the little crabapple tree after the storm. It’s okay.

I’ve perked up a bit, so I’m going to shower at lunchtime. No, I changed my mind again and want a nap (done).

The crazy dogs don’t want to come in even though it’s cold. They finally came in at a quarter to 3. Gracie was busy bugging the cats upstairs, but she seems to have settled down. Right now, she’s lying on her back with her front paws in the air.

Showered after work. My singing lesson went well. We made it through a long song. My teacher said that we should be proud of ourselves.

Fed us all. Ran an errand. Watched Harry Potter. Now I need to give the beasties their crunchies and head for bed.
twistedchick: watercolor painting of coffee cup on wood table (Default)
[personal profile] twistedchick
This is a prayer for Baba Yaga. This is a prayer for Resistance.

This is a prayer for the magic of chicken feet, the heat of old hates, the way old bones hurt. This is a prayer for Resistance.

This is a prayer for hat knitters, sign-carriers, Congress-callers. Old women make up the Resistance.

This is a prayer for casserole-bakers, newsletter-writers, nuisances. Old women make up the Resistance.

This is a prayer for phone-bankers, neighborhood-canvassers, early-voters. Old women make up the Resistance.

When the Moon is full, I call to Her.

I bring coals for Her oven. I bring flour, to cover Her tracks. I bring paprika salve for Her old, sore joints.

I bring a list of complicit women. I bring a doll poked with pins and bound with vines. I bring a bottle of ancient anger.

“Come, Baba Yaga,” I say. “Come find me alone in the woods.”

She comes as she always comes: after a long, scary wait.

She comes as she always comes: riding a mortar, a mop handle, a big, black bird.

She comes as she always comes: hungry, grumpy, alone.

“Old One,” I cry, “We are deep in the darkness. We stand on the front lines, but we are afraid.”
Old One,” I say, “We are tired, our legs get shaky, our fingers are sore.”

“Old One,” I whisper, “It seems to us as if we have worked all our lives and only gone backwards.”

“Oh, shut up,” Baba Yaga says, grabbing all the cookies and putting them into her bag. “Give me those for my cat,” She demands, pointing to liver mousse, sausages, cheese.

She pulls down the skin below my eyes. “Not enough yogurt,” She decides.

“Oh,” She says, turning her chicken hut around and going way past the speed limit, “You’ll be fine. I saw it in some tea leaves. This all works out in the end.”

“Build you a fence made of bones,” She says. “Write this on your wrist: ‘By my mother’s blessing.’”

This is a prayer to Baba Yaga. This is a prayer for Resistance.

This is a prayer for women in sneakers. This is a prayer for Resistance.

This is a prayer for one more phone call. This is a prayer for Resistance.


-- by Hecate Demeter

* * *

She did not write one for Ostara, but I found this one, from near the same time of the year a few years ago, and I think it's suitable on the eve of NO KINGS.

Daily Happiness

Mar. 27th, 2026 08:52 pm
torachan: maru the cat peeking through the blinds and looking grumpy (maru peeking through the blinds)
[personal profile] torachan
1. Feeling relatively positive about some work stuff regarding the new system. I talked about it with my supervisor today, and hopefully we can get a decision by the time I get back from vacation. (Basically it's the IT department insisting things have to be a certain way that is really not realistic, and after my meeting with the people from the Guam branch, I want to see if we can do what they're doing.)

2. The weather has been surprisingly nice this week after all that awful heat the week before. Much muggier than I'd prefer, but at least it's cooler.

3. I got gas today and was pleasantly surprised to find that the price had not gone up since Monday when I filled up the other car. The last few times I'd been before, it was like 10-20 cents higher each time. D:

4. Ollie was very patiently waiting for lap time.

New work.

Mar. 27th, 2026 10:42 pm
hannah: (Library stacks - fooish_icons)
[personal profile] hannah
Picking up the materials for a new contract project today had me thinking about average expectations. It's a small enough project to fit inside a banker's box, and a deep enough project to keep me busy for quite a few weeks. It's also not a heavy project - like I said, banker's box - but I was told I might need a cart to carry the box the few blocks from its owner's apartment to mine. I carried it on top of the twenty-some-odd jars of herbs and spices I'd bought from someone moving out of their apartment, plus the olive oil, balsamic vinegar, and jarred tomato products. It was inconvenient to maneuver, but not hard to carry.

It's going to involve cataloging personal letters, probably with indexing who sent them and who received them, who else was mentioned and where they were sent from, and I'm already thinking about how to set this all up for optimal ease of use. The hauling it over was the easy part. It's why I keep going to the gym - vanity's a small part of it, and a much larger part is being able to haul stuff around without needing the help of other people, or even much in the way of carts.

friday

Mar. 27th, 2026 09:10 pm
summersgate: (Default)
[personal profile] summersgate
IMG_20260327_111418883_HDR[1].jpg
I wanted to get a selfie of Jan, Hazel and me when we went for a short walk before paint and sip. It was cold out. We walked from the Venango Campus gazebo to the memorial for Suzette Nellis beside the Allegheny river. By an odd chance I see she was killed exactly 3 years ago today.

DSC_0877.jpg
Friends. I was not that excited to do a pig for our paint and sip picture so I added a spider and made it into Wilbur from Charlotte's Web. I made the pig a bit more hairy than Chloe's original pig. I never have liked the look of baldness and pinkness that pigs are usually portrayed with. I think it's particularly disgusting to see a picture of a fat pink pig standing on his hind feet in an apron and chef's hat offering up a plate of pork chops (the cut up bodies of his relatives) in front of a restaurant.

*****
Skye had been doing pretty well for so long (eating, not throwing up, wobbly walking here and there, resting a lot) I almost started to believe that that stage could go on forever but yesterday she started to fail. Didn't want to eat. Barely moved from her bed. Today she can't get up at all. I'm glad that Hazel got to see her before she passed on. She was Hazel's pet in the very beginning when she lived over at Jules' house. In a way I can almost believe she held on so long because she wanted to see Hazel one last time. Or the universe wanted them to see each other one last time anyway. Hazel spent a lot of time loving her up today.

*****
It's over now. As I was finishing up writing the above Skye left us.

Weekly Reading

Mar. 27th, 2026 05:35 pm
torachan: sakaki from azumanga daioh holding a cat, with the text "I like cats" in Japanese (sakaki)
[personal profile] torachan
I'm going to be out of town for the next couple Fridays, so I won't have a reading post for a while, but I will be reading and posting about everything once I get back.

Recently Finished
Everyone in This Bank Is a Thief
Brand new Ernest Cunningham book. I am still greatly enjoying this series.

Cocaine Blues
First in the Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries series. I've never seen the show, but am vaguely aware of it and did not realize it was based on books, but this popped up in my recommendations and I do like historical murder mysteries with female protagonists. I didn't love this one, though? It was okay, and I'll probably read more eventually, but I'm not rushing out to read the rest right this moment.

The Tokyo Zodiac Murders
This was an interesting one. The plot sounded intriguing, but so much of the first half or so of the book is just these two guys talking about this 40-year-old unsolved case and coming up with theories, and it was kind of boring. Once it finally got going I enjoyed it more. There are a bunch of books in the series but it looks like only one other is translated into English and I'm not so invested that I want to pay money for the Japanese ones.

This American Ex-Wife
Memoir about the author's divorce (from a truly terrible guy) and how getting divorced was freeing for her. I really liked this a lot.

Lu and Ren’s Guide to Geozoology
Cute middle grade graphic novel about a girl who goes off in search of her missing geozoologist grandmother so they can view an upcoming eclipse together. It's set in a fantasy world and a big focus is on the various animals of the world. I liked this a lot.

Bokura no Chikyuu no Arukikata vol. 7
Final volume. I really loved this series.

Shadow House vol. 21

So, you want to be a writer

Mar. 27th, 2026 07:52 pm
rolanni: (Default)
[personal profile] rolanni

So, where are we? Ah. Friday. Cloudy and colder than the last couple days. Haircut scheduled for this afternoon; before that, more reading of Kin Right.

Drafted "Melant'i Refresher for Terrans" to go into the front of Kin Right, pointing to the Cast of Characters in the back. Was reminded in so doing about the dog who was our outfielder back when I was eight or so and playing pick-up baseball at the local rec center. We couldn't keep the dog off the field, so we made him The Outfielder. He fielded for both sides instead of batting. Helluva outfielder, that dog.

What else?

Rookie got locked in the bedroom closet, and missed breakfast. He's making up for that now.

I think that's all I've got, really. The Exciting Life of a Writer, ayuh.

What're you doing that's exciting today?
#
Tali helping me edit in the Command Chair

#
So, Kathy talked me out of a buzz cut. After the new 'do, I walked over to Holy Cannoli and bought two lemon-blueberry ricotta cheese cookies -- one just eaten with a mug of tea, and one for tomorrow. I really ought to learn how to make ricotta cheese cookies. Or, yanno, maybe safer not to.

Rook is sleeping in the copilot's chair at my desk (as different from Steve's desk), while I take my first stab at a list of characters for Kin Right. This? Is going to be An Undertaking.

Next book, I swear -- one character and nothing happens to them.

I have about 100 pages to read in Kin Right, then 200 pages to enter correx into, then finishing up with the cast of characters and so on. The end, as the saying goes, is in sight.

I'm a little less than half-way through Theo of Golden, and the next meeting of the book club is April 20. I did finish reading Balance of Trade, and I'm going to have to take a step back and given some thought to my reading strategy here. If I'm going to be re-issuing the fey books, I'm going to need to read them, so I may have to break off the Liaden read-through for that. In the meantime, books I preordered last year when I foresaw oodles of time to read -- are starting to download.

Whee...

Well. It's good to have things to do, amirite?

New haircut:


No. Do not want.

Mar. 27th, 2026 04:42 pm
cupcake_goth: (vampfangs)
[personal profile] cupcake_goth
We took Miss Erzabet No Biting to the vet yesterday; despite her thyroid ear goo, she's lost weight, is still peeing and pooing everywhere, has been throwing up a lot, has been drinking a LOT of water, and has days of sneezing and being listless.

They drew blood, did x-rays, then gave her some fluids, vitamins, and steroids. The vet said that we'll have test results in a few days, but she has lost weight and just looking at her he's pretty sure there's something wrong. On the x-rays her kidneys looked smaller than they should, and her intestines "didn't look right", but he needs the tech to increase the contrast before he can make a diagnosis. 

He used the phrase "be prepared in case of end of life procedures are needed". Not a phrase anyone ever wants to hear, and it sent me straight to my anti-anxiety meds.

For all we know, she'll be put on an additional med and she'll be healthy and happy for years. That's what I'm hoping for. Because while I love(d) all of our kitties, past and present, Miss Erzabet No Biting is the spiritual successor to my beloved Dread Beastie, and I'm not ready for her to leave.

Dear 2026, DO NOT. 

Time to start a riot, where you at

Mar. 27th, 2026 07:22 pm
musesfool: Olivia Dunham, PI (there are blondes and blondes)
[personal profile] musesfool
I made it through this work week unscathed! I logged off last night at 4:45 and took a 2 hour nap where I slept like a rock, got up, watched The Pitt (more on that below) and went to bed and again slept hard. This weekend could not have come at a better time! ;)

In other news, I am sure you have all see this, but in case you haven't: Himesh Patel joins the Ryan Coogler X-Files Reboot. Danielle Deadwyler was already on board. I am seated and ready! Though it will probably be several years before it premieres (if it doesn't get shitcanned the way the Buffy revival did).

My impression - not based on anything except how it's described in that article - is that this is more of a sequel than a reboot? Like a reopening of the X-Files several years later? But I could be wrong. It could be a straight up reboot. I am curious, though, how it will go, especially after we've had Fringe and, more recently, Evil treading similar ground.

As for The Pitt: spoilers )

And now I am just going to hit post while I still have an internet connection. The router has been worse today than ever before. I guess it knows its replacement is sitting five feet away, ready to be installed tomorrow.

*

An interesting confluence

Mar. 27th, 2026 07:08 pm
lauradi7dw: (bee in bush)
[personal profile] lauradi7dw
Tomorrow will be No Kings in DC on the peak weekend for cherry blossom gazing. Probably going to be a lovely mob scene.
The icon is a rhododendron, not a cherry tree.

(no subject)

Mar. 27th, 2026 06:30 pm
flemmings: (Default)
[personal profile] flemmings
Woodsman no.2 arrived yesterday punctual to the minute. This is the cheerful guy from the excellent but pricey company I've used before. He opines that my cherry is quite healthy, a relief, because I keep expecting they who know to say, 'That tree is about to collapse any minute, cut it down at once!' Nor did he mention the moss on the thing and I didn't ask, but noticed Prof Islamic Studies' magnolia is equally green about the gills. Ran into Prof himself yesterday when returning, wet, from the super where I'd foolishly gone in just a fleece jacket without my rain cape. Prof was being miserably cold in the springlike 12C of y'day: twenty plus years here have not yet acclimatised him to TO anythings but the most unbearable depths of summer. But he is quite willing to assemble my branch trimmer for me.

We're having a by-election mid-April and I have heard diddly about it bar one or two election signs on the street. The Liberals contacted me about putting up a sign on my property back when the snow was piled a metre high there. They contacted me again when it melted and I said, yeah sure put it up, but since then it's been crickets. Rather like the tree companies, in fact. Today finally I get my notice of where to vote delivered in the mail,  barely two weeks before the advanced polls. I assume this low-key approach has something to do with an expectation that we'll remain firmly Liberal: the Cons aren't even running a candidate. The threat from the south being exactly as it was a year ago, people will go for the competent devil we know over any alternative. It still amuses me when bots and trolls on FB insist that Carney is the face of a communist conspiracy intent on ruining Canada but there are educational failures here as well as in the US.

Stayed up late reading Poirot fanfic, The Monogram Murders, which, well. Poirot wants to find a girl he believes is in danger. How does he do this? He gets on a bus, of course! and looks out the windows hoping to catch a glimpse of her on the streets of London. Does he have any reason to think she's even in the neighbourhood? No, but he still gets on the bus. To put it no stronger, this is not the Poirot I know. And if it's just the narrator who thinks that the reason he's looking out the window is to find the girl, and not merely to look at the scenery, then the narrator needs to resign his position at Scotland Yard, because that's a ridiculous way for an inspector to think.  

(no subject)

Mar. 27th, 2026 03:56 pm
olivermoss: (Default)
[personal profile] olivermoss
The world is a dark place... so it's good to know that Mischief Management has fucked up again: https://www.reddit.com/r/Barbie/comments/1s57zzo/barbie_nightmarefest/

Yes, the revolting transphobes who tried to use trans people as a shield while their Romance Con melted down over Harry Potter drama? And then went on to get a contract with Mattel? Things have gone so badly this is getting mainstream attention. I can only imagine what Swell Entertainment's notifications look like right now.

This video: https://www.reddit.com/r/Barbie/comments/1s5fbin/we_got_dashconned_yall/ reminds me of some liminal horror games I've seen.

Running time

Mar. 27th, 2026 03:46 pm
mildred_of_midgard: (uhura)
[personal profile] mildred_of_midgard
Another thing I could hardly believe is that I maintained my 10-minute mile! I mean, omitting the time I had to take out after the first loop to go to the bathroom (this is apparently when my intestines wake up), which would count in a real event, but as far as fitness goes...I'm not counting it in training. I would count it if it allowed me to rest my muscles properly, or if I was stopping in order to rest, but mostly it just breaks up my rhythm and makes me have to run a first loop twice, which probably slows me down. (First loop is in many ways the hardest.)

I know I was slowing down toward the end, but one of the main things that kept me going was that I had a pep talk that went, "Even if it's slow, it still counts toward your distance. Running this last mile is better than walking it. See, you just passed someone. Even if you come in over a 10-minute mile average, you can bring the time down on another run. Even if it's slow, you'll still have to cover the rest of the loop to get home *somehow* and might as well run instead of walking, it feels better. Even it's slow, it still counts."

Imagine my shock when I pulled out my phone at the end of the run and had 13 seconds to spare. And if you add in the time it took me to remember that I needed to check my phone ASAP, and the time it took to spin my runner's belt around (I run with my phone behind me) and dig it out of the rolled up pocket (my runner's belt is too large for just a thin shirt and shorts; usually I have something a bit thicker on), my time was probably between 2:09:30 and 2:09:40.

My goal is to have my half marathon speed under 2 hours, because I'd like to have a marathon under 4 hours, and I'd like to have an 11-minute mile for actual difficult terrain with hills and roots and whatnot. But this is a good start for training! I only got back into running 6 weeks ago yesterday, and I only did about 1 mile (also flat). And now I can run 13!

Half marathon

Mar. 27th, 2026 03:30 pm
mildred_of_midgard: (Default)
[personal profile] mildred_of_midgard
I can hardly believe it, but I ran 13 miles this morning, which is the distance of a half marathon. I learned some things from last time:

* Run on a workday. It's far easier to keep running if the pep talk is "The alternative is you go inside and continue devising a test plan for your company's thumbnail-generating service" and not "The alternative is you go inside and work on the Peter Keith biography and the Old Irish teaching materials."

* Don't worry about distance, and try not to think about the running process at all, until you start to feel physically tired. For the first half of the run, I wasn't an athlete, just an academic out for a morning run. I knew I could do 4-5 loops (5-6.5 miles) without trying, and I spent the time thinking about Peter Keith, Old Irish, work, and whatever other interesting things came to mind.

Only once I started to feel physically tired did I switch into feeling like an athlete. And even then I didn't set particular goals strongly. I had 13 in the back of my mind, but I had lower numbers, too. I even told myself it was fine if I didn't equal last time's distance (although I would be very confused about why if not).

Toward the end, I started setting half-loop goals, and of course doing my usual thing of finding goalposts as often as possible: finish this loop, finish this mile, finish half a loop, etc. It's easier to hit a goal every 5 minutes than every 15 minutes. It really helped that the 9th loop was 11.75 miles, I decided to go on to 12, and then I realized it was just one! more! mile! to a half marathon.

What ultimately helped the most was that ever since I was in junior high, I've wanted to be able to push myself on distance running. I've wanted to be tired and pushing through it. And while I've certainly made myself run when I didn't feel like it, I've never had this particular sensation before, except a little bit last time.

So I kept telling myself that I had been looking forward to this sensation for 30 years, that I finally had the opportunity, and that I wanted to enjoy it as long as possible. I realized that I have absolutely been quitting too soon and that I've regretted it on my last few runs, and that if I just leaned into enjoying this sensation, I would have the experience and not the regrets.

I mean, the alternative was to work on a test plan for our thumbnail-generation service!

Of course, it definitely helped that 13 miles is half a marathon. I don't know if I would have had this motivation for the number 13 otherwise; I would have stopped at 12 or maybe 12.25.

The biggest problem is my left hamstring. It was *really* unhappy after my last run and for two days afterwards, and it was *really* unhappy after this run. I actually went and lay down for about 15 minutes after this run, learning from last time that a bit of lying down goes a long way. I showered and tried sitting down at the computer on the sofa bed, but my hamstring didn't like it, so I figured instead of tightening my glutes some more, I would lie down flat for a bit. And that did seem to help a little, but I'm not sure if I should be running beyond 13 miles until I solve this. In fact, one of my pep talks today was that this might be my last long run for a while, and if so, I should make the most of it.

I'll keep an eye on it and see. It had mostly recovered the last 2 days (by which I mean back to normal levels of pain), which is why I went for it again. Cross your fingers it does the same thing again!

ETA: Oh, and my knees were 100%, not a twinge in sight. No stiffness, no discomfort, not even when I switched to walking for my cooldown. They were as strong as they've ever been, I couldn't even tell which one has been the injured one for a year. \o/ I've been very diligently sleeping with my legs extended, sometimes even at the cost of sleep, and it's paying off.

Profile

jazzfish: Jazz Fish: beret, sunglasses, saxophone (Default)
Tucker McKinnon

Most Popular Tags

Adventures in Mamboland

"Jazz Fish, a saxophone playing wanderer, finds himself in Mamboland at a critical phase in his life." --Howie Green, on his book Jazz Fish Zen

Yeah. That sounds about right.

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags